Vegan Garlic Aioli (Vegan, Dairy Free & Gluten Free)
This Easy Vegan Garlic Aioli is the best dip for veggies and spread for sandwiches. You can literally use Vegan Garlic Mayo as a replacement for mayonnaise in any recipe that calls for regular version. You’ll whip up this Gluten Free Vegan Dip in two minutes. The ingredients are probably already in your pantry.
This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases at no cost to you. See my Affiliate Disclosure to read my policy and more about affiliate links.
Table of Contents
You’ll never believe how smooth and creamy this Vegan Garlic Mayo is. It really is the best!
I love using it as a dipping sauce for these Easy Roasted Artichokes. I usually serve this as a starter at dinner parties. Once I served it at Thanksgiving and no one even knew it was vegan!
Both vegans and non-vegans alike ask for the recipe all the time. They can’t believe it’s made with cashews.
Why You’ll Love Vegan Garlic Aioli with Cashews
If you’re on a gluten free diet, this dip will certainly satisfy your cravings for creamy and savory dips that are traditionally made with real dairy. You’ll LOVE this Garlic Mayo because it’s:
- Gluten Free
- Soy Free
- Dairy Free
- Plant Based
- Raw Vegan
- Low Carb
What Is Vegan Garlic Aioli?
Vegan Garlic Aioli is essentially the same thing as Vegan Garlic Mayo. The definition of aioli is mayonnaise seasoned with garlic. Since mayonnaise is traditionally made with eggs it is vegetarian, not vegan.
Vegan garlic aioli is a replacement for regular aioli that doesn’t use any animal products. This aioli recipe uses cashews instead of eggs as the base, and is seasoned with garlic just like regular aioli.
Ingredients in Vegan Garlic Aioli
This vegan garlic aioli is perfect for beginner cooks because all you have to do is throw everything in the blender. So here’s how to make it.
- Soak the cashews in water for 8 hours. If you’re in a rush you can soak them for only one hour, but the mayo won’t be as creamy.
- Place all of the ingredients in the blender. Turn the blender on the lowest setting and slowly increase the speed until it’s on high. Use a tamper to push the ingredients into the blade until a smooth puree forms.
Tips to Make the Best Vegan Garlic Mayo Every Time
- Use an offset spatula or tamper to scrape down the sides and push the ingredients into the blade.
- Add Water– If you’re still having trouble blending, you can add 2 tbsp of water.
- Soak the Cashews – You don’t need to soak your cashews overnight, but they do need to be soaked for at least one hour. The longer the cashews sit in water the easier they will be to blend.
- When soaking the Cashews be sure to throw out any that float to the top since this is a sign that they are rancid.
- You’ll know that the aioli is the right consistency when you see that the dip forms an “X” shape after you shut the blender off.
The Benefit of Soaking Cashews
Soak your cashews for at least 1 hour before making the aioli which will make it easier to blend. And the end result will be super creamy and smooth. If you choose not to soak the nuts you’ll have trouble blending them. Not to mention that you’ll end up with a chunky finished product.
Soaking cashews makes them more digestible for two reasons:
- The water absorbed by the cashews makes them softer and easier for your digestive system to break down.
2. It also washes off the digestive inhibitors that coat the outside of each nut.
Don’t have all of the ingredients listed above? No problem! Here is a list of ingredients that I’ve successfully swapped.
- Cashews – You can use macadamia nuts instead!
- Olive Oil – You can replace the olive oil with Avocado oil or any neutral oil although I don’t recommend Canola or Vegetable Oil for health reasons.
- Fresh Garlic – Fresh garlic can be swapped out for 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder or 1/4 teaspoon of jarred garlic.
- Onion Powder – Can be swapped out for 2 tablespoons of diced fresh onion.
- Rice Vinegar – Can be swapped out for Apple Cider Vinegar or any other neutral white vinegar.
What is vegan aioli made of?
This vegan aioli recipe is made from blended cashews, garlic, onion powder, nutritional yeast, vinegar water and sea salt. But vegan aioli can be made from many types of vegan ingredients.
Like garbanzo beans, almonds, silken tofu or even a store bought vegan mayonnaise seasoned with garlic. Some vegan aioli is made from pea protein or soy. What is in Subway Vegan Garlic Aioli?
People seem to be going nuts for Subway’s vegan garlic aioli! While I think it’s great that they have a vegan option, those with food sensitivities should know exactly what’s in it! Here are the ingredients in subway vegan garlic aioli:
1. Soybean Oil
4. Prepared Mustard (vinegar, mustard seed, salt)
5. Garlic Puree (water, dehydrated garlic, canola oil, citric acid)
Is aioli just garlic mayonnaise?
Aioli is essentially a fancy word for mayonnaise that has been seasoned with garlic. So yes aioli is just garlic mayonnaise.How do you make Jamie Oliver garlic aioli?
Jamie Oliver’s garlic aioli recipe can be found on his website. The ingredients are not vegan. The ingredients consist of:
small clove garlic
Freshly ground black pepper.
Free-range egg yolk.
Extra virgin olive oil.
You can find the whole recipe here: Jamie Oliver’s Aioli. Is garlic aioli vegetarian?
Traditional garlic aioli is vegetarian since it doesn’t use meat from animals. The only animal product found in garlic aioli is egg, which are considered to be apart of a vegetarian diet. Since vegetarian diets include animal byproducts like eggs, yogurt, butter, cheese and milk.Is Coles Vegan Garlic Aioli gluten free?
The ingredients for Coles vegan garlic aioli are:
Canola Oil [Canola Oil, Antioxidant 304], Vinegar, Water, Garlic, Sugar, Wholegrain Mustard [Water, Mustard Seeds, Salt, Sugar, 260, Turmeric, Marjoram, Thyme, Garlic Extract, Spice Extract], Salt, Maize Starch, Fava Beans, Herb Extract, Carotene.
While none of these ingredients generally contain gluten, Coles vegan garlic aioli is not labeled gluten free. This could be because Maize Starch can have trace amounts of wheat in it. Or because the aioli is produced in a facility that processes products that contain gluten.
If there is gluten in Coles vegan garlic aioli it would be in trace amounts. If you aren’t celiac you likely could withstand the trace amount of gluten that could be present in Coles Vegan Garlic Aioli. Is Subway Garlic Aioli Vegan?
Regular subway garlic aioli is not vegan because it contains liquid egg yolk in it. Although they did recently come out with a Vegan Garlic Aioli that is predominately made with soybean oil, garlic puree, mustard and seasonings.
Vegan Garlic Mayo Recipe Variations to Try
- Chipotle Aioli – Add 2 chipotle chilis in adobo sauce or 2 tablespoons of Peruvian Spice Blend.
- Plain Aioli – Leave out the garlic and onion powder for a more neutral flavor.
Aioli is just a fancy word for mayonnaise. Traditional mayo is made with oil and eggs. Other flavorful ingredients are often added like harissa or Dijon Mustard. Technically, aioli is dairy free since it does not use any milk products.
However, that doesn’t make it vegan. So if you are looking to avoid dairy then you can still use regular aioli.
Vegan Garlic Aioli is definitely vegan since vegan recipes do not use any animal products by definition and dairy is an animal bi product.
Why Make Vegan Garlic Mayo If You’re on A Gluten Free Diet?
Casein is a protein that slows down digestion in your gut, but also acts as glue in the
intestines. This can trigger an immune response causing your body to produce excess
The mucus then gums up your respiratory and digestive systems. Since goat and sheep milks don’t contain this protein they are much less mucus
If you can get your hands on raw sheep or goat cheese, that’s even better because the raw dairy still contains its live enzymes that aid in digestion. Therefore, raw
goat and sheep dairy are the best possible sources of dairy for humans after infancy.
So in light of dairy’s immunosuppressant qualities, I bring you a delicious substitute
to use over the holidays: Raw Vegan Cashew Garlic Aioli completely vegan and
So it is not mucus forming nor does it cause inflammation like regular aioli. If you have a lot of inflammation it will make your digestive symptoms worse.
More Gluten Free Vegan Dip Recipes To Try
Vegan Garlic Aioli (Vegan, Dairy Free & Gluten Free)
- ▢ 1 Cup Raw Cashews Soaked for 8 hours
- ▢ 2 Cloves Garlic Roasted or Raw
- ▢ 5 tbsp Olive oil
- ▢ 1/4 C Water
- ▢ 1/2 tsp Onion Powder
- ▢ 3/4 tsp Sea Salt
- ▢ 1 tbsp Nutritional Yeast
- ▢ 1 tbsp Rice Vinegar
- Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Slice garlic through the middle drizzle with olive oil salt and pepper, wrap in tinfoil and bake for 25 minutes or until garlic is soft. Pop out two cloves and save the rest.
- In a Vitamix, blend all of the ingredients together until smooth. Add extra water, one tablespoon at a time if the Aoli is too thick to blend.
- This recipe is Keto friendly and low carb